About me

Hi! First of all, a big thank you for checking out my website!
My name is Susanne, otherwise known as Gypsy in sneakers.

I’m 21 years old and originally from the southern part of the Netherlands. I would describe myself as a girl that craves spicy street food, loves animals, is always kind to everyone and only functions when the sun is shining. I have a deep passion for travelling, creating imagery and understanding other cultures.

I started traveling when I was 17 and I immediately fell in love with distant places. I have always wondered what is behind the horizon and how people live elsewhere. That’s why I choose my current education management tourism. I combine studying and traveling as much as I can because I just want a life well traveled. 

“The thing about modern traveling is that everyone looks to the right, and I want to be the one who looks to the left” – Gypsyinsneakers

GYPSY IN SNEAKERS – Why the name?

Because i’m a gypsy who travels the world, loves all animals, respects nature and is kind to another. But I also love my street/city side. I am born and raised in a city. When I’m at home I love a good tracksuit with sneakers and some good R&B music.

 

Questions: 

What is my favorite vacation country?

I don’t have one specific country i like. But if I have to choose I would say The Philippines, the nature is just breathtaking and the people are extremely friendly and ofcourse the diving, sunsets and beaches are one of a kind.

What was your first big trip? 

My first big trip was South-Africa, I went there as a volunteer at the age of 17 with a group of other young volunteers. We stayed there 2 weeks and travelled a lot, we visited important charities and helped them. This was my first ‘out of Europe’ trip and I loved it. Ever since then I started travelling and I immediately booked my second trip to Thailand! Then Suriname, French Guyana, Bali, Singapore, Lesotho, Tunisia, Laos, Philippines and many more followed.